Chamber music demands of a composer the most perfect technique and the greatest depth of thought.
Dmitri Shostakovich

The DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble celebrated the 110th anniversary of Dmitri Shostakovich (born on 25.09.1906) performing the great Russian composer’s complete chamber music for piano and strings, in two concerts on September 23rd and 25th in Lisbon's Centro Cultural de Belém, with Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro, Corey Cerovsek, Cerys Jones, Isabel Charisius and Adrian Brendel, also celebrating the 10th anniversary of the DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble.
Shostakovich’s chamber music spans the full extent of his creative life, beginning in his youth (1st Piano Trio, composed at the age of 17), passing through the masterpieces of his musical maturity (Sonata for cello and piano, 2nd Piano Trio and Piano Quintet) and ending in his last Opus (Sonata for viola and piano, composed in 1975, the year of his death), also reflecting the full spectrum of his ideological and thematic range.
These concerts were a unique occasion to appreciate Shostakovich’s extraordinary chamber music, which, despite being widely played during his lifetime, remained a bastion of all his vitality and artistic freedom.

Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro piano and artistic direction
Corey Cerovsek violin
Cerys Jones violin
Isabel Charisius viola
Adrian Brendel cello


September 23rd | 19:00

Part I
Sonata for cello and piano, Op. 40
Piano Trio No. 2, Op. 67, for piano, violin and cello

Part II
Moderato for cello and piano
Sonata for viola and piano, Op. 147

September 25th | 17:00

Part I
Piano Trio No. 1, Op. 8, for piano, violin and cello
Sonata for violin and piano, Op. 147

Part II
Piano Quintet, Op. 57, for piano, 2 violins, viola and cello

The concerts will include commentaries by Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro

More info and tickets:

Partilhar nas redes sociais