2nd Ciclo de Concertos com Prelúdios Científicos

Concert Cycle with Scientific Preludes


curatorship Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro

co-organisation Teatro Nacional São João, Ministério da Ciência, Tecnologia e Ensino Superior, DSCH Shostakovich Ensemble


After the success of the first edition, chamber music is back at the São Bento da Vitória Monastery for a second volume of the MUSIC4L-MENTE cycle, a partnership between the Teatro Nacional São João, the Ministry of Science, Technology and Higher Education of Portugal, and the DSCH – Shostakovich Ensemble.

The concerts will take place between December 2022 and June 2023, with the interpretation of reference works by great composers from the 18th to the 21st century, preceded by scientific preludes that explore the intersection between music and science.

For the inaugural concert of the cycle, a singular Christmas opening, the pianist and artistic director Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (who continues to curate MUSIC4L-MENTE), joins two top musicians of the international panorama - the German violinist Viviane Hagner and the Swiss cellist Christian Poltéra – to lead us through two emblematic trios (piano, violin and cello) by Dvořák and Beethoven.

The second concert of the cycle is scheduled for February, with music by Schubert and the world premiere of “Dreaming and Thinking”, a work by the American composer Bruce Adolphe, inspired by the writings of Albert Einstein and António Damásio. A born communicator (he assures one of the scientific preludes), pianist and teacher, his music “challenges the ear and the mind”.

From Schubert's famous quintet, The Trout, to the fantasies of the Spaniard Joaquín Turina and Schumann's Fairy Tales, passing through the elegies of Shostakovich, Poulenc and Britten, MUSIC4L-MENTE draws a temporal arc that takes us from the 18th to the 21st centuries and beyond. various periods of classical music.

The mastery of internationally renowned musicians combines with the enthusiasm of the Juventus Ensemble in interpreting the program chosen by curator Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro.

The scientific preludes focus on the intersections between music and science (from chemistry to astrophysics and from mathematics to neuroscience) and are in charge of relevant names in the scientific world.


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 


General Programme: 


21st December 2022


Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Viviane Hagner (violin), Christian Poltéra (cello)

Works by Antonín Dvořák  Trio Opus 90, “Dumky”; Ludwig van Beethoven – Trio Opus 97, “Archducke”

Scientific Prelude : “Chemistry and Music” – by chemist João Paulo André 


16th February 2023


Juventus Ensemble : Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Amia Janicki (violin), Tomás Soares (violin), Sofia Silva Sousa (viola), Pedro Gomes Silva (cello), Tiago Pinto-Ribeiro (double bass),

Works by Franz Schubert – Quintet D. 667 “The Trout”; Bruce Adolphe  Sextet “Dreaming and Thinking” (world premiere)

Scientific Prelude : “Neurosciences and Music” – by composer Bruce Adolphe


27th April 2023


Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Esther Hoppe (violin), Christian Poltéra (cello)

Works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Trio KV. 548; Joaquín Turina  Trio “Círculo” Opus 91; Dmitri Schostakovich  Trio N. 2 Opus 67

Scientific Prelude : “Astrophysics and Music” – by physicist Vítor Cardoso


29th June 2023


Filipe Pinto-Ribeiro (piano), Lars Anders Tomter (viola), Pascal Moraguès (clarinet)

Works by Robert Schumann – “Fairy Tales” Opus 132; Francis Poulenc  Sonata FP 184; Benjamin Britten – Lacrhymae Op. 48a; Max Bruch  Pieces Opus 83

Scientific Prelude : “Maths and Music” – by mathematician Jorge Buescu


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 


More information:


Partilhar nas redes sociais